This is the "Home" page of the "Handling your Money" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Understanding how to navigate financial aid, first car, student debt, credit cards, and all things about money important to college students.
Last Updated: Sep 1, 2016 URL: http://cecil.libguides.com/content.php?pid=462702 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Scholarships

Cover Art
The Ultimate Scholarship Book 2013 - Tanabe; Kelly Tanabe
ISBN: 9781617600012
Publication Date: 2012
How to use the ultimate scholarship book -- Where to find the best scholarships -- How to win the scholarships you find -- How to write a winning scholarship essay -- The scholarship resume -- Getting great recommendations -- Ace the scholarship interview -- Final thoughts -- The ultimate scholarship directory -- Scholarship indexes. Abstract: Information on thousands of scholarships, grants, and prizes is easily accessible in this revised directory and features awards indexed by career goal, major, academics, public service, talent, athletics, religion, ethnicity, and more.

Cover Art
Scholarships 101 - Kimberly Ann Stezala
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9780814409817
Publication Date: 2008

Cover Art
How to Write a Winning Scholarship Essay - Tanabe; Kelly Tanabe
ISBN: 9781932662375
Publication Date: 2009
Learn how to write an essay that wins. Step-by-step instructions on how to craft a winning scholarship essay and ace the interview. Get valuable advice from actual scholarship judges and winners. This book is a 'must have' for high school and college students who want to learn how to win scholarships.

Cover Art
Scholarship Handbook 2011 - College Board Staff; Henry Holt and Company Staff (Prepared for Publication by)
Call Number: LB2338 .C65 2010
ISBN: 9780874479065
Publication Date: 2010
The Scholarship Handbook 2011provides the most complete and authoritative facts about more than 1.7 million awards, including scholarship, internship and loan programs offered to undergraduates by foundations, charitable organizations, and state and federal government agencies.

Cover Art
Scholarship Handbook 2012 - College Board Editors
Call Number: LB2338 .S36 2012
ISBN: 9780874479713
Publication Date: 2011
The Scholarship Handbook 2012provides the most complete and authoritative facts about more than 1.7 million awards, including scholarship, internship, and loan programs offered by foundations, charitable organizations, and state and federal government agencies.

 

Contact the Library

Need help?

Call:  (410) 287-1005

Text: Cecil to 66746.  *Standard text message rates apply.

E-mail: library@cecil.edu

Visit: Hours

Money on the Web

  • CashCourse: Your Real-Life Money Guide
    Online personal finance tools help you build real-life-ready financial skills.When you’re a student, it can feel like money is always tight. You’ve got bills, rent, and tuition to pay, and you want to have enough money for fun, too.
  • Credit Card Insider
    Free resources and tools to help you use credit responsibly and to your advantage.
  • Financial Literacy 101
    An online financial literacy course designed for the specific challenges faced by today's college student.
    The interactive, multimedia program works to prevent the financial and academic harm that too often results from the unique financial challenges of higher education.
  • First Generation Student
    This site is full of info for first-generation college students - kids who will be the first in their families to go to college.
    And we’ve got you covered, with tips on finding the perfect campus, applying for admission, making it work financially, and doing your best once you get there and after you graduate.
  • Higher One: One Focus on Higher Education
    Higher One is committed to helping students learn about banking and financial services in responsible ways.
  • I'm First
    I'm First is an interactive site that supports students who are working hard to be among the first generation in their family to and through college.
  • NerdWallet
    NerdWallet’s Financial Literacy Orientation helps students and adults build the necessary skills to effectively manage their personal finances.
    The Orientation provides lessons in fundamentals in addition to more advanced discussions, such as developing a healthy financial attitude. So explore the program, save some money, and get your nerd on!
  • Practical Money Skills for Life
    Improve your financial future by gaining a better understanding of a broad range of personal finance topics, including creating a budget, and using credit wisely. These tools, resources and tips can help you build strong solid money management skills that will serve you today and for years to come.
 

Apps for Money Management

 

Spent: Looking for Change

 

youtube on money

 

Student Loans

 

Scholarships

 

Books

Cover Art
The Money Class - Suze Orman
ISBN: 9780812982138
Publication Date: 2012
Everything you need to know about taking care of your family, your home, your career, and planning for retirement. The Money Class is filled with tools and advice that can take you from a place of financial fear to a place of financial security.

Cover Art
Get a Financial Life - Beth Kobliner
ISBN: 9780743264365
Publication Date: 2009-03-17
Those in their twenties and thirties have special financial concerns, including paying off college loans, obtaining credit cards, buying a car, and financing a first house or apartment. Kobliner,"focuses exclusively on what you need to know now when you're just starting to pay attention to money matters."

Cover Art
Debt Information for Teens - Karen Bellenir (Editor)
Call Number: HG179 .D379 2011
ISBN: 9780780812154
Publication Date: 2011
Debt Information for Teens explains the economic fundamentals that govern the use of debt as a financial tool.

Cover Art
Smart Money Smart Kids - Dave Ramsey (Original Author); Rachel Cruze (Original Author)
Call Number: HG179 .R31562 2014
ISBN: 9781937077631
Publication Date: 2014-04-22
Starting with the basics like working, spending, saving, and giving, and moving into more challenging issues like avoiding debt for life, paying cash for college, and battling discontentment, Dave and Rachel present a no-nonsense, common-sense approach for changing your family tree.

Cover Art
The Veteran's Money Book - Mechel Lashawn Glass; Scott Scredon
Call Number: HG179 .G5434 2014
ISBN: 9781601633125
Publication Date: 2014-04-21
Veterans are paying down debt and developing long-term plans to save and build wealth. Build a personal financial action plan that meets individual needs. Understand credit and insurance, avoid scams, and develop lifelong habits to stick to a budget.

Cover Art
Get Financially Naked - Sharon Kedar; Manisha Thakor
Call Number: HG 179 .T44 2010
ISBN: 9781440502019
Publication Date: 2009
You may think that marital bliss means money doesn't matter, but in today's troubled economic times, that's simply false hope. And with layoffs galore and debt mounting, financial stress is through the roof. Think keeping afloatand affectionateis impossible? Think again.

 

DVDs in the Library

DVDs Concerning Financial Literacy

Default: The Student Loan Documentary -- Stories of borrowers who find themselves in the paralyzing predicament of having to repay far more than what they borrowed -- with no bankruptcy protection, and no recourse under the law. 27 minutes.

In Debt We Trust -- Financial and government institutions are fostering citizen’s dependence on credit.  98 minutes.

Your Life, Your Money -- Money management for young adults from basic banking to loans, use of credit, investing for retirement, and insurance. 60 minutes.

Pursuit of the Dream: Building Credit for Life  -- Credit ratings, personal finance, consumer credit. 20 minutes.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip